The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

AND NOW A MESSAGE FROM 

W O R L D     C L A S S

ON MOMENTUM

Greetings, friends! I hope this message finds you all in good health and good spirits. As you know, Taking Hold of the Flame season is upon us — wow! How exciting! I’ve been taking my daily vitamins, counting my macros, training hard, and getting plenty of rest, as I’m sure you all have. I’ll admit, as this will be my first Taking Hold of the Flame event in over ten years, the suspense is killing me. It’s that time of the year for each one of us to dig down deep and see what we’re made of to see who’s got what it takes. Some of us will have to dig through a few extra layers to get there, however. I’m looking at you, Mr. Adonis.

But before we get there, as excited as I am, let’s not count our chickens! We have one tiny little pit stop to make en route to the night that will determine the main event at Rise To Greatness. This is the time on the SCW calendar where you really want to make that last little impression or statement of intent. Heading into Sunday’s pay per view with a ‘W’ can give you some extra momentum, and that can be important when you find yourself in a big match. It just gives you that little extra oomph going forward.

Now, when I think of momentum, I can’t think of two names right now that fit the bill of needing that extra forward motion than you and I, Aaron. Because see, on Sunday, you’re going to attempt to do something you haven’t been able to do yet. You’ve earned the right to ‘Pass Go’ on the madness of the Battle Royal due to a hard fought victory for the number one contendership, and now you have a legitimate opportunity to not only become the World Champion, but also headline Rise to Greatness. And what a hell of a story that would be. Some people might think you’ve been given that opportunity by luck, but I see otherwise. We make our own luck, after all, and when you got the opportunity you were second to none. Congratulations, Aaron. On that night, you were truly exceptional. I was watching closely for other reasons, but you stole the show and caught my eye in the process. And me? Hell, I don’t want to brag or anything, but that Champion you’re about to face? She had to tuck tail and run away from me, crossing her little sausage fingers in the hopes that there wouldn’t be sudden death. Fortunately for her, there wasn’t, because there was no way she was going to win another fall and I think we could all see that in her beady little possum eyes. That’s neither here nor there, and it’s something that I plan on rectifying real soon anyway regardless of which one of you walks away with that strap. The point is, Aaron, we’re both real threats right now. And so, in their infinite wisdom, the geniuses in SCW administration booked this wrestling match, knowing that the two of us both would benefit from a win heading into Sunday but only one of us would be able to claim that precious downhill shove. Kind of creates that slight air of desperation the crowd goes wild for. 

And the rest of the bill is just fits perfectly, doesn’t it? I mean, you, the talented up and comer trying to achieve that next level versus the crafty Hall of Famer clawing tooth and nail to get back to the top of the mountain. Different, but the same. Makes for some pretty high stakes television, if you ask me.

I’ll admit, Aaron. I’m very excited to step into the ring with you and see what you can do. You’re a very impressive athlete. One look at you makes that crystal clear. And I’m not easily impressed. 

And aside from being an impressive athlete and a body paint fetishist, you have at least one other thing that I don’t, and that’s the ability to hit the HOLY MOTHERFUCKING SHIT out of people. Jesus Christ, those stiff shots look like they could bend titanium. What are you, Aaron, American Ip Man? The grown up Karate Kid? Were you able to snatch the pebble from your sensei’s hand? That finishing move…is that even possible without being a parkour expert? Or can you levitate? Do you think you could knee somebody’s damn head off? How many black belts do you have? Have you ever killed a man with one of those strikes? Are you even allowed to fly commercial? How many Kung fu movies does one need to watch before those skills become ingrained? Are you a street fighter? Do you have powers?

I watched you straight up turn Gavin Taylor’s head into a cereal bowl. It’s an interesting skill set to say the least, and one that makes you a very dangerous opponent, both for me and our Champ. And I, quite frankly, have to be doubly careful since my legions of adoring fans are quite fond of my skull without a massive crater. 

I have done my due diligence. It’s called strong style, and evidently it’s code for “I’m going to beat the ever loving hell out of you”. Well I’ll be damned. Wrestling really has changed over the last decade. With all the theatrics, the fancy entrances, the get-up, the spinning around, you really are tailor made for this audience in particular. Some people might call what you do art, and by some, I mean you, Aaron. I myself call it battery, but that’s just me. It doesn’t make it any less lethal and it sure is one hell of a way to get the job done. And isn’t that the nature of art anyway? It can be anything you want it to be, especially in 2020. It may be abstract art and not for everyone, but it’s art nonetheless. And hey, then again, when you’re 125 pounds I guess the circumstances do call for a little more creativity, don’t they? Who am I to judge? You do you, man. Back in the day, even I used to employ a thai kick, back when my hips and knees could pull it off. Isn’t it just a grand feeling to kick people in the head?! I can’t speak for everyone, but I know there are days when I miss it dearly.

I can’t fault you for your style. Good on you for finding a nice little niche to make a name for yourself. I’ll admit, even I’m entertained by your unique brand of violence. Everybody knows what you’re capable of. While I’ve been gone, you’ve been putting on highly regarded matches, just like the one you put on last year against the woman you’ll go toe to toe with on Sunday. What you do dictates that you be taken seriously, because taken lightly, you’ll give somebody the gift of a whopper of a concussion and an L to hang. 

All that creativity born out of an inability to compete in the traditional sense has brought you to a place where you’ve become quite popular amongst the ranks here. You’ve ascended in short order. Tells me that this “strong style” actually works. You’re SCW’s resident master of this thing that I’ll admit I don’t fully understand. But If I can be so bold, this hard hitting style isn’t strictly speaking wrestling. It’s just lots of hitting and kicking. Kind of like an Ike and Tina bio pic. 

In terms of styles, we have absolutely nothing in common. While we’re both looking for that crucial edge and we’re both gunning for that top spot, the similarities between us come to a screeching halt. Because, you see, just as you can do things that I can’t do, I can do things that you can’t do. 

Because what I am, Aaron, is a wrestler.

I’m sorry, no. Excuse me. Let me reemphasize. 

I’m THE wrestler. 

I don’t need to rely on bludgeoning somebody to death. I myself may not possess the ability to literally kick a man to death like you do — I’m sure you’re aware, Aaron, that even if I wanted to, I probably couldn’t pull that off. Hell, the way you heathens go after my leg is proof positive of that. But I don’t need to do that in order to win. What I can do, Aaron, is outwrestle and outwit you in that ring. Because that’s my art, Aaron, and I’ve been doing it for a very, very long time. I love to get down on the mat and operate the way only I can. That’s a big reason why I came back. I missed my art and my craft. And that craft I’ve perfected over the years, my young, scrawny, painted friend, is something you’re not equipped for.

I’m not going to mince words. I’m coming out there to out-wrestle and beat you. We both need this win right now. You’re looking for that extra momentum heading into what could be the crowning achievement of your career. And so am I. But the only thing you’re going to find is a little nappy nap. You’d be better off drinking a glass of warm milk and curling up with a good book than tussling with me right now. That momentum you’ve gained will be lost with three simple taps of the hand, and you’ll have to head into Taking Hold of the Flame a little bit behind the old eight ball. 

But that’s okay, Aaron. Because you little guys are always so damn scrappy. I have no doubt even after I’ve beaten you this week, you’ll find the fortitude to dig deep down, hit the old punching bag, listen to some Journey, put on a fresh coat of very intricately designed paint, and find a way to hold on that feeling. Sunday could very well be your time. But right now? Wednesday?

I’m not the one, Aar-Bear.

On Wednesday, it’s the lightweight hard hitter versus the World Class wrestler. 

I’ve observed your art, Aaron. 

Not bad. 

Now allow me to show you mine.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started